SiteAdvisor Giving Wrong Advice

A couple of days ago Scouta’s good friend The Rooster pointed out that Scouta’s domain was flagged yellow by McAfee SiteAdvisor. It claims it has a misleading site name, “Our analysis indicates that this site’s primary purpose is to capture traffic meant for scout.com, a more popular site with a similar name.”

Of course this is completely wrong, and we’re also pretty confident that the domain has no previous owners (though that’s hard to guarantee), that might have used the site for that purpose.

So I registered for a SiteAdvisor account, and have made a Web Site Owner Comment, and await McAfee to reassess the website.

Anyone have any ideas how I can speed the process up of correcting this error?

3 Responses to “SiteAdvisor Giving Wrong Advice”

  1. Graeme Says:

    “Our analysis indicates …”

    What is the bet their analysis is nothing more than something automated that initially checks for single letters being added. Now I know the web2 trend has been been more to removing vowels than adding them, but, sheesh, this is a bit rich. It may just be that something happened to this domain *before*, though.

    Judging from other sites, the way around this is to get big and popular (ha) and have lots of links going to ’safe’ places. And send a welcoming email or two. And incoming links from safe sites help too, as do comments from site advisors. My guess is that this will sort itself out in time.

  2. The Rooster Says:

    Rich, have you emailed the guys at site advisor as well as dropping a comment?

    The other thing is that the above comment might be right in that all the website is doing at the moment is asking for email addresses, it might be deemed as such by them.

    However - I visit a LOT of new start ups and sites like yours is at the moment, for the podcast. It is very unusual to have yours even rated so soon. Usually, new start-ups are “grey” meaning they are yet to be classified. Which again leads me to thing that the domain has been used before. But that as you say is unlikely.

    As I said to you Rich this is the first time that I have seen this happen in a case such as this. I hope you get it sorted. I am going to drop a comment in support of yours on the page - perhaps that might help.

  3. Feral Pundit Says:

    I recently set up 3 sites as well and they too are rated yellow by site advisor

    e-mail tests for feralpundit.com:

    Junk e-mail advertiser

    When we visited this site, we found that it may advertise in junk e-mail.

    This is a bunch of nonsense as I used to be green until I added AdSense to my sites Two of my sites are brand new and already rated yellow I have never sent one email from my new domain.

Leave a Reply